A Godly Father

I woke up this morning unable to sleep and as I lay in bed with my own thoughts, they are about my dad. I miss him everyday and as I walk this cancer journey, there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t long for his big strong hug.

IMG_0810

Sunday is Father’s day and although dad is no longer here for me to celebrate with Him, he is with me and I will celebrate him.

I was definitely a daddy’s girl growing up. I grew up on a farm which meant there were lots of chores to do.  Mom and dad had six kids (3 sons and 3 daughters) therefore, they had lots of help. I remember the evenings while planning for the next day, I would find my way to dad and begin giving him all the reasons why I needed to go help him with the hog chores instead of staying in the house to help mom with household chores. He would listen to my case and talk with mom who was always gracious enough to let me go.

IMG_0190

I know it sounds a little strange…why in the world would I want to clean up after hogs instead of cleaning up after people? All I can tell you is that I don’t remember a moment with my dad that wasn’t fun, meaningful and uplifting.

Proverbs 20:7 says “The righteous man walks in his integrity; his children are blessed after him.”

Dad lived a life of honesty and strong moral principles and not only is that how he lived, it is what he taught. We prayed together as a family and we had conversations around the dinner table. We worked together as a family to pick up the yard and cut wood for the fireplace.

Dad also lived and taught us the importance of a life of fun and playfulness. The conversations we had in our moments together would go from him horsing around and telling jokes… that sometimes only he found funny…to deep personal ones about trusting God in times of doubt, hurt and fear.

After I left home, I would get phone calls from dad in the middle of the day. I would be at work in my office and he would be at work in his office (in the tractor doing field work). He would ask me about what was going on in my life and then he would share with me what was happening on the farm. Mom would often tell me she thought he was on the phone with one of the boys because he would share with me the prices of hogs and the size of pig litters born. I will always treasure those moments.

Deuteronomy 6:6-9 says “These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates.

Reflecting back, I would have to describe dad as the essence of the Holy Spirit working through him showing me in some small way the love of my Heavenly Father. He was a Godly Father. He was a Godly Man. He loved unconditionally. He taught us how to love and honor God. My family was blessed through Him. Dad lived out what God calls fathers to live and for that I will be forever blessed.

Proverbs 22:6 “Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old, they will not turn from it.”

IMG_0783

Thanks, dad. I love you to the heavens and back!

 

1 thought on “A Godly Father”

  1. Beautiful and well deserved tribute to your Dad, Laura! A day doesn’t go by without me thanking God for such wonderful brothers and Mike is definitely one of them! Thank you for sharing your ❤️ and the heart of your Dad! Happy Father’s Day, Mike!

    Like

Leave a Reply

